Apparently, that's Raili. But since it's a bit complicated, let's start from the beginning.

March 8th is an International Women's Day and Raili's school celebrated the occasion by inviting all mom's to - no, not to eat cake or see a play made by the kids but to sing a solo rendition of a Chinese (folk) song in front of a tough crowd of 26 four-year olds. I was the second mom to be called up on the stage. A nice surprise, eh? :)

1359264.jpg

One of Raili's teachers talking.

So after the program was over, I was still delirious from all the high pitched singing. Raili began to gather her stuff in her backpack and I noticed she picked up some items that were in a cupboard reserved for "Conie".

"Raili, that's not your stuff".
"Yes it is".
"But sweetheart, it says Conie, not Raili".
"But mom, that's me".
"What?" 
"
That's my English Name"
"Your what?"
"My English name. My English teacher gave it to me"
"Your Engllish teacher? Why are they not calling you "Riley" or something closer in pronounciation to Raili?
"Because the teacher said that Raili was a difficult name to say"
"What? So your Chinese teachers call you Be Li Ching and your English teacher calls you Conie. Does anyone call you "Raili"?
"You do"
"Ok, let go home"

Then it suddenly hit me on our way home. I remembered the teachers mentioning at the beginning of the school year that they had a volunteer English teacher, a native of Japan. It struck me a bit funny that a Japanese lady would be teaching Chinese kids English...but since there is no English or Finnish equivalents of "R" in Japanese...I guess her English name became "Conie". And yes, it's also written out with just one "N".

1359329.jpg

Classmates of Be Li Ching, Conie or Raili.

1359356.jpg

"Conie" in her winter school uniform.