Sept. 9th, 11pm (50 hours on the train)


I'm here! Actually a bit anticlimactic after all that amazing train ride. I am definitely woozy but going out for a bite with a Brit/Hong Kong guy and a Korean. We met on the train. The Brit wants to bicycle from Lhasa to Katmandu and the Korean is thinking of joinin him

Sept. 10th, 2pm - Lhasa
Going to pick up Bryan at the airport (edit: a friend from Shanghai joining D in Lhasa). I had a great morning walking through the Tibetan markets; like southern Urumqi only even more local.

Sept. 10th, 5pm - Lhasa
Bryan made it but almost missed his luggage in Xian. Wait til you see what I found at the market! In my defense, I did manage to resist buying the holy monk red coat and the typically worn felt hat of the Tibetan men, but the hand-made yak leather bag that looked to have seen around 30 years of use--well I couldn't resist.  I mean--now this was a real "man-bag!" I threw it over my shoulder and headed for our tour bus. A one hour drive, we arrived, and the driver and tour guide scrambled--really-out of the car---that bag is definitely yak...you can still smell him--really good.  Just wait till I use this as carry o for the flight home...