I have wanted to describe my daily commute to you many, many times but some how it has taken me almost two and a half years to do it. And since pictures speak louder than words, cover your ears; here it comes.

My daily commute begins at the Song Hong Road Metro stop - the western most subway station on Line 2. Around seven o'clock it's not yet too busy; just a few motorcycle "taxis" waiting to drive people a short distance for 5-10 yuan ($0.70 - $1.50). David tells me I will need to give them a go but I'm too scared to think of riding without a helmet and a computer strapped to my back. So everyday I walk past them and go down to the platform and wait for the train. Before seven thirty, the train comes every five minutes, after seven thirty, every minute.

Normally, I read a book or listen to my player to pass the time but it does get a bit boring to sit for almost an hour in the subway car as it fills up. As a travel through 17 stations, I keep joking that I watch people's belts for two hours each day.

My daily "View". And not brought to you by ABC Daytime either.

As the train nears the terminal station ZhangJiang High Tech Park at the other end of Line 2, the subway is bursting from its seams. As the train comes to a full stop, people race to the exit steps as if it was a contest. Well, it actually is because the next train is only a minute away and it takes at least five minutes to clear the platform from one train. So if you do the math, you realize that unless you join the sea of people shuffling towards the steps, you will never make it off the platform before lunch.

As I get out side, I begin the second part of my journey to the office.  I set on foot for a 10 minute trek to our office building. I pass interesting looking stalls (this one selling all parts chicken smoked, including necks) and people. I’ve learned to hold my breath as I pass the stinky tofu stand (the only word to appropriately describe it is a four letter work starting with “s”).

Most people walk under umbrellas whether it rains or shines since exposure to either is considered bad for your skin.

 

Lady selling breakfast pancakes. She usually has a few other carts next to her selling warm tofu milk, deep fried donut sticks or dumplings. On my way home, the selection has converted into dinner items, including lamb kebabs, cooked yams, seasonal fruits and roasted walnuts. 

 

I see people pushing carts, hauling stuff on tricycles or keeping the surroundings clean. Many workers walk around with towels on their heads to keep the sun away – and when it gets too hot, they wet the towel for an instant cool off.

This guy is keeping the lawn clean.

As I approach the office, I have two more tasks to complete before settling in for work. First, I need to make it across the building walkway.

The gravel that has been laid down on the walking path is so deep that you can’t walk on it without ruining shoes. Instead you must use the 6” wide shoulder and try not to fall into the “gravel pit”. I actually find it quite amusing that nobody ever walks on the actual walking path. For two years it has been this way and I'm sure it will be for another two. Why wouldn't it?  


Last, I stop by at the little convenience store on the first floor to get a quick bite for the morning. For a country that has historically not had dairy as a part of their diet, the times are fast a-changing.  The counter is filled with various packaging for milk, yogurt and juices (in a plastic bag, carton or a plastic bottle. Take your pick), or a combination of any of the three. I grab a yogurt and a rice triangle covered with seaweed and head out to the elevators.

When I finally make it to the 8th floor of our office building, I can only hope that the air conditioning is working. The trek from the train station is not a long one but in 90F heat it leaves you wishing for potent antiperspirants for sale. And just when I've finally cooled off, it's six o'clock and time to head back to where I came from...