Last week I went to get lunch at the downstairs deli and I picked up yogurt, potato ships and instant noodles. When I got back at my desk, I noticed I had not paid attention to the flavors I selected and by accident, picked up some not-too-familiar flavors; My yogurt was an Aloe-Cucumber mix and the potato chips were mango flavored. To be honest, they didn't taste awful, but they didn't become my new favorites either.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

So it got me thinking about all the regional flavors that as far as I know are <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />China specific. The more curious ones I've seen include; chocolate gum, black bean muffins and get this, pork flavored Cheetos (they were horrible!). A whole another chapter could be written on fast food restaurants accommodating to local palates: McDonalds serves green bean pies instead of apple, KFC has egg tarts and Pizza Hut bakes Shrimp Ball Roe Mayo pizza. 

In the non-edible category, I noticed that dish detergents also come in many new-to-me scents, including "garlic". I went for the less controversial "ginger" but wonder why you would want your plates and glasses to smell like garlic? Or maybe it is the ultimate garlic lovers dream...